Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Archery, sport, and even life isn’t always, and is only rarely as glamorous as we may portray it online. Sharing the excitement of your highs is fantastic, but it sometimes hides the truth; the journey of what it took to get there. And knowing that journey can be far more exciting, or important to share rather than just the destination.

Be the one you needed.

I remember when I was maybe 12 or 13 years old, a classmate said to me, “Promise that you’ll remember us when you’re a famous Olympian.” Which, of course I agreed to. At the time it may have just been words, but that promise has grown into something much more and much deeper; “Be the one you needed“. This phrase has helped guide me through some tough times on my journey and is a constant reminder that being Olympic isn’t about winning, or even competing, but rather being an inspiration, role model, and mentor.

It took quite a while to really embrace this realization. I had to get out of my comfort zone, do a lot of self reflection, and really dig into why I was on this path. I found a great Sport Psychologist / Mental Performance Consultant who helped guide me through the process. I also started exploring meditation and mindfulness with a wonderful Performance Coach. It’s been a very difficult and uncomfortable journey that has led to some really big wins.

Steady. Strong. True.

As I continued looking inside and learning how to become the one I needed, I was able to build upon the work we had done and continue into places I didn’t expect. Inspired by a meditation by Coach Kiri, I discovered three new words, the phrase they create, and all the concepts they embody. Steady, Strong, and True. They may mean something entirely different for you, maybe you have your own words, or maybe it’s something completely different. Either way, having something pure that you have discovered about yourself can be a powerful tool to have available! There are so many concepts and emotions that these words encompass for me, and the more I explore them, the more I learn about them and myself. They have become a new foundation of the path that I walk my journey on; always with me and always supporting me.

No one expects you to do this alone. It takes a team, a family, and a community all sharing in your journey to help guide you on the path to achieving those rare moments of glory. Share it with them, share the entire journey, and celebrate it as a whole! Those rare moments aren’t destinations, they’re the beginnings of the next part of the story.

The real successes are the friends we made along the way.