Tags

, , , , , , ,

As my back slowly heals, I’ve been able to get out shooting a little more in preparation for next weekend’s 2017 Canadian Championship in Québec. It wasn’t a lot, but this past week I shot 177 arrows, slightly up from the week before. It’s really hard forcing myself to not shoot as much as I want to, but I have to take it easy to avoid making this injury any worse. My physiotherapist and I have come up with what I feel is a pretty good plan for dealing with the injury leading up to, and during Nationals. When I get back from Nationals though, I will likely take two or three weeks off to get some good rest and hopefully fully recover from this injury.

IMG_20170806_171923

Since the injury isn’t directly related to archery, knowing that I was still able to perform well with the pain and discomfort at Provincials, and having had a couple really good training sessions this past week with Norm, I feel very strong and confident about my form overall. There are still a couple issues that I’m trying to work through, but knowing what they are and how to fix them is a great start; I just need to stay mentally strong and focused for the duration of the tournament to minimize their impact. During my break, the mental game is something I’m going to be spending a lot of time on.

We’re really excited and looking forward to this tournament. It won’t be the last of the season, but it is the one we’ve been working toward all year. Plus, we’ll get to see more of this great country and meet many other fellow archers!

