Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The road to recovery is long, winding, and often littered with bumps or other obstacles. But as long as you keep heading in the general direction you want to go, you’ll eventually arrive at your destination with a good story and a lesson or two learned along the way. This week I was able to shoot 145 arrows as I slowly build back up to my normal amount.

I’m lucky to have such a wonderful support circle of friends, family, professionals, and fellow archers to constantly keep me motivated, provide feedback, and to help me through difficult times. I can’t thank you enough! I know I’ll need you again, and I want you to know that I’ll always be there for you as well 💖 Hopefully, this particular road to recovery now has a few more breadcrumbs on it for others to help them find their way.

Since I can’t shoot as much as I want to yet, and Norm and I usually go to the range together, I’ve been finding various things to keep me busy while he’s shooting. This week, I made a chainmail(le) “bracelet” for our scope. This particular weave is commonly known as helm chain, and is a fairly simple pattern. It’s really good for making things like bracelets and necklaces since it naturally likes to lay flat. If anyone is interested, I usually order my rings from The Ring Lord and when I want to try a new weave or need a reminder, M.A.I.L. (Maille Artisans International League) is a wonderful resource.

Now I want to add more chainmail to other parts of my gear but I’m not sure what, or where .. any suggestions?

