Tags

, , , , , , ,

Not a lot happened this week, but it was a pretty great week nonetheless. This week I shot 452 arrows.

Someone once told me – “Be the person you needed when you were younger.” which has stuck with me, especially in sport. I hope through my various endeavours, I’m able to inspire and motivate others to follow their dreams, and they go on to inspire others…

I had originally shared this story with a Facebook group, but I would like to share it here as well:

A couple weeks ago, I received a message from the father of two young girls. He explained how his girls were really interested in archery and how he found my archery blog that mentioned I often shoot in the same city as them. I managed to put him in contact with one of the coaches at the range I shoot at and I believe they’ll be starting beginner lessons very soon! ūüėÄ

I really hope the girls love the sport and the archery community as much as I do! It feels wonderful to help others connect with people that can help them to explore their interests and passions.

If you are interested in learning more about archery, or would like to try it out, send me a message, or check out any of the clubs listed at the bottom of the page! If you’re not in the Greater Toronto Area, send me a message anyway, I may still be able to put you in contact with someone in your area.

On Saturday, OCCS held its second annual Alien Invasion event in support of the Mississauga Food Bank. It was a good time, only one city (team) was overrun by aliens (New York, of course), and lots of non-perishable food items were donated to the food bank.

Oh yea, as an experiment, I made a few graphs of my weekly arrow volume, and tournament scores.¬†I’m hoping that as I add more data, the graphs will automatically update. If not, it shouldn’t be too¬†difficult to re-publish them. (UPDATE: I just did some testing, and it seems like they auto update!).

Somehow, I completely forgot to mention this earlier, but I’m now Archery Bum Field Staff! Archery Bum makes some pretty sweet custom archery jerseys and¬†casual tops. They have a passion for the sport and a company philosophy that I’m proud to support and be a part of.

And finally, here are a couple clips of me working on those form changes I had mentioned in last week’s post. It’s subtle, but there’s definitely an improvement. My head is more stable, and my fingers stay much straighter:

The weather was really nice, but the mosquitoes started enjoying it (and me) a bit more than I prefer. Although, I got this one back pretty good:
IMG_20170604_122254

Mosquitoes definitely make good (but uncomfortable) distraction training!

