Tags

, , , , ,

This weekend’s MICA (Multi-Sites Indoor Championships of the Americas) tournament marks the end of my first season, and first indoor season, of archery. It’s been an incredible experience that I won’t soon forget! I was involved in several charity events, set new personal bests under tournament conditions, learned a lot about myself and the sport, and met so many new friends who are just as passionate about archery as I am. I even drove 8 hours just to go to an archery store and try out some high end equipment.

Since starting archery lessons with the Level 1 course at the Ontario Centre for Classical Sport back in May of 2016, I have shot in 8 tournaments, 3 charity events, and 2 leagues. I was disappointed with some of my performances, and elated with others. I was even able to win a gold medal at the 2017 Ontario IFAA Indoor Championship and place fourth with a to-date personal best at the 2017 Ontario 10 Ring Championship!  I just have to keep reminding myself that progress isn’t a smooth line or curve, but rather a very bumpy one, with lots of peaks and valleys. As long as that line keeps trending upward, I’ve got nothing to worry about. Overall, I’m very happy with everything I’ve learned and incorporated into my performance.

UPDATE: Ongoing personal bests and major tournament results can be found on the Achievements & Awards page.

Starting this week, I should be starting a physical training program that should help build my strength and endurance, which will help me to perform better at longer distances, higher draw weights, and during the tiring multi-day and back to back tournaments this summer. I’m really excited to start the program and get stronger, but not nearly as excited as I am to start shooting regularly outdoors at 70m! Norm and I have talked about doing early morning (ie sunrise) training at the range before work. As much as I enjoy sleeping in, I think this is something I can make an exception for.

Although this blog has become a bit of a personal journal, which I’m only a little sorry about, I will try to make more interesting posts over the summer. But, since this blog is as much for me as it is for you, you should expect to see weekly arrow count summaries and occasional thoughts continue to appear.

I know I don’t often write about the tournaments and scores I shoot (and I think that trend will continue), but since this is an end of season summary, how about .. a summary? (most recent at the top).

UPDATE: Ongoing tournament scores can be found on the Tournament Scores page.

Tournament Position Score Average Arrow
Multi-Sites Indoor Championships of the Americas (MICA) results should be available in May 515/600 8.58
2017 Canadian Regional Indoor Championships 11th 504/600 8.40
2017 Ontario 10 Ring Indoor Championship 4th 532/600 8.87
2017 10 Ring Feb. Club Shoot, OCCS 1st 513/600 8.55
2017 10 Ring Club Shoot, Archers of Caledon 4th 493/600 8.22
2017 Ontario IFAA Indoor Championship Gold 268/300 4.47
2016 10 Ring Dec. Club Shoot, OCCS 1st 509/600 8.48
2016 10 Ring Oct. Club Shoot, OCCS 3rd 447/600 7.45

And finally, just because I have the scorecard next to me and was just doing some analysis of it, here are some interesting things about how I shot yesterday at the MICA tournament:
18 x 10s, 21 x 9s, and 21 x 8s or less. That’s 65% of the arrows in the gold! m1af2a93a
I shoot on what’s called a 3-spot target, which only has the innermost 5 scoring rings of a standard 40cm indoor target. During the MICA, I shot 2 misses, which wasn’t much fun, and gave me the impression that I wasn’t shooting as well as I actually was. In the first half, I finished with a 251/300 which is pretty normal/average for me to shoot these days, but that’s with a miss. In the second half, I finished with 264/300 which is pretty good, but I also had a miss there too! So really, I was shooting very well, except for  three or four bad shots on the day. If we were to give those misses each a score of 8 (which is slightly under the average arrow score for the day), that would have given me 531/600. Which is only one less than my personal best! It just goes to show that even with a few bad arrows, you can still perform very well, and you shouldn’t let it get you down! You just have to keep shooting strong, confident arrows and not worry about the bad ones. In addition to the individual scored round, there was also a team round. It was my first team experience, and it was so much fun! Thank you Dakota and Elise for teaching me the team format, and leaving me plenty of time to shoot my two arrows 😀

My goal was to shoot 270/300 by the end of the season, and I did it! I’m routinely shooting 250s and quite often 260s now as well. Using the ratings system shown on archerysorepad.com, I’m hoping to begin my outdoor season by shooting in the 520/720 to 550/720 range, and by the end of the season, my goal is to shoot a 600/720!

