Tags

, , ,

img_20170224_083620This actually happened last weekend while I was tuning my bow for my new limbs, but I just hadn’t gotten around to taking all the photos to help describe what happened, until now.

The short version is that I shot a “robin hood”!

This is achieved when an archer shoots an arrow into a bullseye, then sends the next shaft perfectly into the first, just like the folklore hero did in his famous shootout with the Sheriff of Nottingham.

The long version requires a little bit of background information about my arrows, and why I can’t really shoot a Robin Hood. As you can see, there’s a “pin” in the end of the arrow shaft that the knock slips on to. In the photo, you can see a shaft with a tip, a pin, a fletched shaft with a pin, and a knock.

img_20170224_083959

This pin is what prevents other arrows from penetrating, and destroying the shaft, meaning it’s nearly impossible to actually shoot a “robin hood”. But, there’s a very good reason for this, aside from not breaking all your arrows during a competition. Replacing shafts can get pretty expensive! These Easton Carbon One shafts I use are about $13CAD (some shafts can cost as much as $45CAD), while the pin is only about $1CAD.

Here’s a closeup of the pin that saved my shaft, and an arrow tip. You can see the large gash in the end of the pin where the tip struck it, nearly dead center.

img_20170224_084053

Afterwhich the arrow deflected into a fletching, pierced it, and tore it off, before finally coming to rest in the target in the 9 ring (would have been a 10). The pin and a fletching needed to be replaced, but the shaft took no damage and I got to tell you this great story. It’s hard to see in the photos below, but the knock being pointed at is split nearly in half.

2017-02-18-18-38-44_2

